web analytics
NewsSpace & Earth Observation

Rocket Lab launches seven small satellites to Earth orbit

Rocket Lab has launched seven small satellites to Earth Orbit for future missions. With the launch of these seven satellites, the total number of satellites lifted by Rocket Lab comes to 104, reported Space.com. 

The seven small satellites comprises of an Earth Observation microsatellite for BlackSky, two IoT nanosatellites, one for Fleet Space, one for Myriota, and three experimental satellites ¬and a tech-demo cubesat for the U.S. Army’s Space and Missile Defence Command (SMDC).
NASA is already planning to launch another mission later this year, for which it has already booked a ride to the moon via Electron and Photon for its CAPSTONE cubesat.

Rocket Lab also plans to launch self-funded Venus missions using Electron-Photon duo in the coming years.

According to Rocket Lab representatives, The SMDC cubesat, called Gunsmoke-J, “We will test technologies that support development of new capabilities for the U.S Army. Photon Pathstone will demonstrate power management, thermal control and attitude control subsystems, as well as newly integrated technologies including deep-space radio capability, an upgraded RCS (Reaction Control System) for precision pointing in space and sun sensors and star trackers.”

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button